Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing

All you need is love. But a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt.
– Charles M. Schulz

If I land in heaven, I would definitely want them to stock all kinds of chocolate that I could gorge on for the rest of my “life”.

For the past one month, I have been having very chocolaty weekends, owing to this blog. The end product does not always turn out as I dream of, but I’m content that this just leads to more adventures and more chocolate to experiment with!

This time, I’ve tried my hand on piping a simple chocolate cake. You can also make layers and indulge in a chocolate fudge cake. I intend to try that soon!

RECIPE

Ingredients

200g flour

25g cocoa powder

4 large eggs

225g powdered sugar

225g butter, at room temperature

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp baking powder

For the chocolate fudge icing

45g cocoa powder

150g powdered sugar

45g butter, melted

3 tbsp milk, plus a little extra to loosen the mixture

 

Method

Preheat the oven in convection mode to 150°C (300°F).

Line the bottom of a 8″ round cake tin with butter/parchment paper. Then, grease the tin and sprinkle some flour.

Preparing the batter is usually tough for me because I tend to lick (ahem, taste) some off the spoon.

So to begin with, sift the flour and cocoa powder into a large bowl, and add all the other cake ingredients.

Then, mix together for a few minutes until well combined. Bake for 20–25 minutes, or until risen and firm to the touch, then leave to cool for about an hour.

For the icing, sift the cocoa powder and icing sugar into a bowl, add the butter and milk, and mix until smooth and well combined. Add a little extra milk if the mixture is too thick—you need to be able to spread it easily.

Make sure you don’t get any crumbs on the spatula while icing.

I’d recently purchased a piping bag and nozzles and I was eagerly wanting to use them. And this gave me the perfect opportunity!

I’ve tried a very basic decorative design on this cake because I really wanted it to look good in the photographs.

And, not to forget, the chocolate wafer sticks to raise the chocolate quotient.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. R Taylor says:

    Chocolate cakes have always been my favorite! I love the simplicity of this cake and the wafers sticks are a great idea.

    Like

    1. bakingutopia says:

      Thanks Rose! Though, when I look at these pictures, I feel so sad as the cake just refused to rise. It looks like a really flat, disappointed cake 😦

      Like

Please do leave your comments.

