Chocolate Brownies: Served With Love

I did not bake last week. Actually, I was celebrating the 50+ likes on my Facebook page. It is such an amazing feeling and has inspired me to strive to give every one of you chocolate nirvana! At the moment, I owe a big thank you to all my new likers, so here it is in the form of a perfect recipe for a perfect dessert.

Over a period of your lifetime, you find several baking recipes, but, there is that one recipe that you can rely on and work with blindly.

Today, I found my foolproof brownie recipe, owing to the impeccable Smitten Kitchen. You can’t really go wrong with it. It is quick, easy, and heavenly.

RECIPE

Ingredients

10 tbsp (141g) unsalted butter, softened [I had salted, so I skipped the
¼ tsp salt]
1¼ cups (280g) powdered sugar, sifted
¾ cup plus 2 tbsp (82g) unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted
½ tsp vanilla essence
2 large eggs, cold
½ cup (66g) all-purpose flour, sifted
Cadbury’s Bournville chocolate, melted, to decorate (optional)

Method

Preheat the oven to 140°C (284°F). Grease and line a 8 x 8″ square cake tin with butter or parchment paper.

Combine the butter, sugar, and cocoa in a medium microwaveable bowl. Put this mixture in the microwave for 20 seconds at 100%. The butter should be melted and the mixture will be warm and smooth.

Stir in the vanilla essence.

Now, add the eggs one at a time, stirring consistently. Mix in the flour and give a good stir until you feel the batter should not be baked and eaten as is. But, you realize that this is a persistent problem that crops up when you bake, so you move on, and transfer the batter to the tin to let the oven decide its fate.

I baked for 23 minutes and I am so pleased that for the first time, I passed the knife test. It was clean and crumb-free. This time, I did not under bake or over bake or had any reason to panic. Phew!

Finally, let the brownies cool completely on a rack. Then, lift up the ends of the parchment paper, and transfer it to a cutting board.

Cut them neatly into squares and serve them with love. 🙂

You could also go crazy, melt some dark chocolate in the microwave for 20-30 seconds, and drizzle it over your intensely chocolate brownies.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. vimitha says:

    Hmmm yummmy sinfully delicious beauties

    Like

    1. bakingutopia says:

      Thanks so much for reading and appreciating! 🙂

      Like

  2. Rose Taylor says:

    They say chocolate leaves you in a state of mild euphoria. I’d say chocolate brownies leaves you feeling happy for a longer period of time. Your recipe is surely one of the easiest and so far contains a lot of chocolate which is an advantage in my part. (Wink!)

    Like

    1. bakingutopia says:

      I’m in complete agreement with you, Rose. You know, I was actually delaying gulping down the last brownie piece, because I didn’t want it to finish! Will need to make more next time, I guess.

      Thanks so much for commenting 🙂

      Like

  3. These look yum, yum, yum! 🙂

    Like

    1. bakingutopia says:

      Thank you so much! By the way, your blog looks amazing! 🙂

      Like

  4. Oh bloody hell! I’m weak in my knees! 😛 That chocolate drizzled on top of your brownies are so good! And that choco chip heart! YUM! 🙂

    Like

    1. bakingutopia says:

      Ha ha… Thanks so much, Kavitha! 😀

      Like

Please do leave your comments.

