Heavenly Chocolate Chip Cookies

It is the best feeling in the world for a baker (at least for a lazy one, like me) to dream about attempting a recipe and having all the ingredients on hand. Since a couple of weeks, I had been wanting to bake cookies, but I just couldn’t find the time or the perfect recipe. Finally, I stumbled upon Hershey’s website and discovered HERSHEY’S Doubly Chocolate Cookies.

I am so pleased with this recipe, because 1) it is insanely easy to make these, and 2) it made me understand why everybody craves for cookie dough. I must have eaten the dough for about 4 cookies straight from the bowl.

RECIPE [Print this]

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour

2/3 cup cocoa powder

¾ tsp baking soda

1 cup butter, softened [I used salted, so I skipped the ¼ tsp salt]

1½ cups powdered sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups chocolate chips

Method

Preheat the oven in convection mode to 150°C (300°F).

I did not have a cookie sheet and I’d come across this brilliant idea on the Internet to turn a cake tin upside down and use the surface as a substitute. It worked wonderfully well.

In a mixing bowl, sift together flour, cocoa powder, and baking soda. In another mixing bowl, beat butter and sugar. Add the eggs one at a time, and then mix in vanilla until fluffy. It was quite a physical exercise, but I absolutely loved it!

Gradually add the flour mixture, beating well. Stir in the chocolate chips.

 

Drop by evenly spaced, rounded teaspoons onto an ungreased aluminium surface (anything flat and aluminium will do). For more information on substituting a cookie sheet, here is a useful link.
Bake for 8–10 minutes or just until set. Let it cool completely.

I had to bake in 6 batches as I could only place 6 or 7 cookies at a time. When the first batch was out of the oven, I kept pondering if I should add more chocolate chips. I added a handful and put in the second batch to bake.

While staring at the oven and with the bag of chocolate chips in my hand, I still kept thinking if I should add more. 3–4 minutes later, I forgot about it, and started gobbling up the chips like popcorn. Thankfully, I didn’t finish them.

And yes, I did add some more in the bowl. You can never have enough chocolate, can you?

Please do leave your comments.

